Global statistics show that people are more concerned about the impact of food on their health and well-being. We can also notice a growing interest in the environmental impact of everyday actions such as drinking a cup of coffee, driving a car/airplane, buying animal food or processed or highly processed foods, etc.

These concerns are indeed justified because our consumption of resources exceeds the Earth’s regenerative capacity by 1.75 times(1 – 2). It is said that humanity consumes 1.75 planets Earth . Scientific reports also show an alarming decrease in biodiversity. World populations of mammals, birds, fish, reptiles and amphibians have decreased by an average of 68% in just 50 years(3).

On the legislative level, we see in several countries the implementation of laws, directives and action plans that are in line with the environmental and social objectives of the United Nations. This is the case, for example, of the State of Vaud, Switzerland, with a climate plan that focuses on 3 main axes: reducing GHG emissions to achieve a 50-60% reduction by 2030; adapting to climate change; documenting climate change and the actions taken. One of the State of Vaud’s areas of action in relation to food is agriculture (11% of GHG emissions in Vaud). In particular, the State of Vaud aims to promote “sustainable and resilient agriculture, based on the sequestration of organic carbon in the soil and the preservation of its long-term health, the development of feed supplement techniques that inhibit GHG emissions from livestock, the development of biogas and the adaptation of agriculture to climate change in order to guarantee food self-sufficiency (the average rate between 2007-2017 in Switzerland is 60%)”. The State of Vaud is also positioning itself as a responsible partner by providing municipalities and organizations with subsidies for projects related to the reduction of GHG emissions and sustainable development. (4)

The objective of this article is to show some trends in terms of diet, diets and lifestyles.

Consumption of sustainable food products

Global consumption of organic food products is growing. The global organic market grew by 28% between 2013 ($68.5 billion) and 2018 ($95 billion) (5 – 6).

Vente d’aliments Bio dans le monde de 1999 à 2018 (en milliards de dollars)

World Organic Food Sales 1999-2018 (in billions of dollars)(5)

In Switzerland, the share of household expenditure on organic food and beverages doubled between 2000 and 2017, from about 5 to 10%(7).

Consommation de produits Bio en Suisse entre 200 e 2017

Consumption of organic products in Switzerland between 2000 and 2017(7)

Consumer interest in certified food products is also increasing. Studies show that sustainability is becoming a selection criterion when choosing a product. Criteria such as the non-use of pesticides, the quantity of packaging or its recyclability, working conditions, are among the most recurrent selection criteria, among others(8 – 9).

Principales préoccupations en matière de durabilité en ce qui concerne le choix des aliments

Key Sustainability Concerns for Food Choice (8)

According to the National Restaurant Association, other trends are also to be noted, such as the consumption of local products (hyper-local sourcing) and unprocessed or minimally processed food products (10). Locavorism is particularly favored nowadays by the pandemic situation due to COVID-19. This movement advocates the consumption of food produced within a limited radius around one’s home (11).

Diet

One of the main emerging trends in diets is the vegetalization of the diet. Four types of diets in this direction stand out in a study conducted in 4 European countries (France, Germany, the United Kingdom and Spain): the vegetarian diet, the vegetalian diet, the vegan diet and the flexitarian diet (below the definitions). Among these 4 diets, the most important one is flexitarianism, i.e., voluntarily limiting meat consumption without being exclusively vegetarian. This trend would mainly concern the 18-34 age group. (12).

In Switzerland, the share of the vegetarian and vegan population has more than doubled in 10 years and currently represents about 5% of the population. People declaring a flexitarian diet currently represent about 24% of the Swiss population (13).

Taux de végétariens, végétaliens, vegans et flexitariens en France, Allemagne, Espagne et Royaume-Uni en 2018

Rates of vegetarians, vegetalians, vegans and flexitarians in France, Germany, Spain and the United Kingdom in 2018 (12)

Even if the progression of this trend is difficult to measure at the European and global level, the popularization, the values of the younger generations and the awareness of the state of the environment, suggest the progression of vegetarianism.

Diet and eating habits change over time and are influenced by many social and economic factors. Nowadays, we can notice an awareness of the benefits of a healthy diet on people’s health. According to the WHO, a healthy diet is a diversified and balanced diet adapted to age, gender, lifestyle and physical exercise (14).

In Switzerland, a survey conducted in 2009 showed that “taste, quality and health, followed by diversity, balance and freshness” are priority factors for the population in terms of nutrition (15). According to a more recent survey, conducted by menuCH between 2014 and 2015, three out of four people have heard of the Swiss food pyramid and two thirds of people were aware of the “five a day” campaign (16).

Various entities and organizations also advocate for a healthy diet with a low environmental impact (17), the so-called planetary diet, i.e. a diet that is optimal from a health and ecological point of view (18).

Influence des modes d’alimentation sur l’environnement

Influence of power supply modes on the environment (18)

In terms of food, the challenge lies, as shown in the figure below, in the abandonment of synthetic pesticides and fertilizers, the extension of agro-ecological infrastructures, the generalization of healthier diets, less rich in animal products and making more room for fruits and vegetables (19 – 20). The trend is already there both in terms of practices and legal framework. There is every reason to believe that this trend will only increase.

Scénario pour une Europe agroécologique en 2050

Scenario for an agro-ecological Europe in 2050 (19 – 20)

Other trends

Sustainable tourism (21), soft mobility (22), reuse (23), circular economy (24), sustainable catering (25), are among others sectors in full expansion.

In order to guarantee the sustainability of the different economic sectors, it is obvious today that these sectors must place more emphasis on planning and integrated management of development strategies with a positive social and environmental impact. This is all the more so in developing countries where consumers are acquiring greater purchasing power.

Définitions (26)

  • vegetarian
    abstention from meat, fish, but consumption of eggs, cheese, milk, etc.
  • vegetalian
    abstention from meat, fish, but also from all dairy products and eggs. Eat only cereals, vegetables and fruit.
  • vegan
    which strives to live without consuming products from animal exploitation, for the benefit of animals, people and the planet. Vegans eat a vegetable-based diet, with nothing from animals – no meat, eggs or honey, for example. A vegan lifestyle also avoids leather, wool, silk and other animal products for clothing and other uses.
  • flexitarian
    limiting meat consumption without being exclusively vegetarian and not for financial reasons
  • healthy eating
    a diverse, balanced diet that is appropriate for age, gender, lifestyle and exercise (14)
  • locavorism
    a movement that advocates the consumption of food produced within a limited radius of one’s home (11)
  • planetary diet
    optimal nutrition from a health and ecological point of view (17)

Bibliography

Les statistiques mondiales montrent que les personnes se soucient plus de l’impact de l’alimentation sur leur santé et leur bien-être. Nous pouvons remarquer également un intérêt croissant sur l’impact environnemental des gestes habituels comme boire une tasse de café, faire un trajet en voiture/avion, acheter des aliments d’origine animale ou des aliments transformés voir ultra-transformés, etc.

Ces préoccupations sont en effet justifiées car notre consommation des ressources dépasse de 1.75 la capacité de régénération de la Terre. On dit que l’humanité consomme 1.75 planètes Terre(1 – 2). Les rapports scientifiques montrent également une diminution alarmante de la biodiversité. Les populations mondiales de mammifères, d’oiseaux, de poissons, de reptiles et d’amphibiens ont diminué en moyenne de 68% en seulement 50 ans(3).

Sur le plan législatif, nous voyons dans plusieurs pays une implantation de lois, de directives et de plans d’actions qui vont dans le sens des objectifs environnementaux et sociaux des Nations Unies. C’est le cas par exemple de l’État de Vaud, en Suisse, avec un plan climat qui s’articule sur 3 axes principaux : réduire les émissions de GES pour atteindre une réduction de 50 à 60 % d’ici 2030 ; s’adapter aux changements climatiques ; documenter les changements climatiques et les actions engagées. L’un des domaines d’action de l’État de Vaud en lien avec l’alimentation est l’agriculture (11% des émissions de GES sur le territoire vaudois). L’État de Vaud vise notamment à favoriser « une agriculture durable et résiliente, basée sur la séquestration de carbone organique dans les sols et la préservation de leur fertilité́ à long terme, sur le développement des techniques de compléments alimentaires inhibant les émissions de GES du bétail, sur la mise en valeur du biogaz et sur l’adaptation de l’agriculture aux changements climatiques dans le but de garantir l’autosuffisance alimentaire (le taux moyen entre 2007-2017 en Suisse est de 60 %) ». L’État de Vaud se positionne également comme partenaire responsable en mettant à disposition des communes et organisations des subventions pour des projets en lien avec la réduction des émissions de GES et le développement durable.(4)

L’objectif de cet article est de montrer certaines tendances au niveau de l’alimentation, des régimes alimentaires et des modes de vie.

Consommation de produits alimentaires durables

La consommation mondiale de produits alimentaires BIO est en croissance. Le marché mondial du Bio a augmenté de 28% entre 2013 (68.5 milliards de dollars) et 2018 (95 milliards de dollars)(5 – 6).

Vente d’aliments Bio dans le monde de 1999 à 2018 (en milliards de dollars)

Vente d’aliments Bio dans le monde de 1999 à 2018 (en milliards de dollars)(5)

En Suisse, la part des dépenses des ménages pour l’alimentation et les boissons Bio a doublé entre 2000 et 2017, en passant d’environ 5 à 10%.(7).

Consommation de produits Bio en Suisse entre 200 e 2017

Consommation de produits Bio en Suisse entre 200 e 2017(7)

L’intérêt des consommateurs pour les produits alimentaires certifiés est aussi en augmentation. Des études montrent que la durabilité devient un critère de sélection lors du choix d’un produit. Des critères comme la non utilisation de pesticides, la quantité d’emballages ou leur recyclabilité, les conditions de travail, sont entre autres les critères de choix les plus récurrents(8 – 9).

Principales préoccupations en matière de durabilité en ce qui concerne le choix des aliments

Principales préoccupations en matière de durabilité en ce qui concerne le choix des aliments(8)

D’autres tendances sont aussi à relever selon la National Restaurant Association, comme par exemple la consommation de produits locaux (hyper-local sourcing) et de produits alimentaires non ou peu transformés (10). Le locavorisme est notamment favorisé de nos jours par la situation de pandémie due au COVID-19. Ce mouvement prône la consommation de nourriture produite dans un rayon restreint autour de son domicile (11).

Régimes alimentaires

L’une des principales tendances émergentes au niveau des régimes alimentaires est végétalisation de l’alimentation. Quatre types de régimes allant dans ce sens se démarquent dans une étude menée dans 4 pays européens (la France, l’Allemagne, le Royaume-Uni et l’Espagne): le régime végétarien, le régime végétalien, le régime végane et le régime flexitarien (ci-dessous les définitions). Parmi ces 4 régimes, celui qui s’impose le plus est le flexitarianisme, c’est-à-dire, le fait de limiter volontairement la consommation de viande sans être exclusivement végétarien. Cette tendance concernerait principalement les tranches d’âge de 18 à 34 ans (12).

En Suisse, la part de la population végétarienne et végane a plus que doublé en 10 ans, elle représente actuellement environ 5% de la population. Les personnes déclarant avoir une diète flexitarienne représentent actuellement environ 24% de la population suisse (13).

Taux de végétariens, végétaliens, vegans et flexitariens en France, Allemagne, Espagne et Royaume-Uni en 2018

Taux de végétariens, végétaliens, vegans et flexitariens en France, Allemagne, Espagne et Royaume-Uni en 2018 (12)

Même si la progression de cette tendance est difficile à mesurer au niveau de l’Europe et au niveau mondial, la popularisation, les valeurs des jeunes générations et la prise de conscience de l’état de l’environnement, laissent entrevoir la progression du végétarisme.

L’alimentation et les habitudes alimentaires évoluent avec le temps et elles sont influencées par de nombreux facteurs sociaux et économiques. De nos jours, nous pouvons remarquer une prise de conscience des bénéfices d’une alimentation saine sur la santé des personnes. Selon l’OMS, une alimentation saine est une alimentation diversifiée, équilibrée et adaptée à l’âge, le sexe, le mode de vie et l’exercice physique (14).

En Suisse, une enquête menée en 2009 montrait que « le goût, la qualité et la santé, suivis par la diversité, l’équilibre et la fraicheur » constituent des facteurs prioritaires pour la population en matière d’alimentation (15). Selon une enquête plus récente, menée par menuCH entre 2014 et 2015, trois personnes sur 4 ont entendu parler de la pyramide alimentaire suisse et deux tiers des personnes connaissaient la campagne «cinq par jour» (16).

Diverses entités et organismes prônent également pour un alimentation saine et avec un impact environnemental faible, c’est ce qu’on appelle la planetary diet (17)., c’est-à-dire une alimentation optimale d’un point de vue sanitaire et écologique (18).

Influence des modes d’alimentation sur l’environnement

Influence des modes d’alimentation sur l’environnement (18)

Sur le plan de l’alimentation, le défi repose, comme le montre la figure ci-dessous, sur l’abandon des pesticides et des fertilisants de synthèse, l’extension des infrastructures agroécologiques, la généralisation de régimes alimentaires plus sains, moins riches en produits d’origine animale et faisant une plus grande place aux fruits et légumes (19 – 20). La tendance est déjà là aussi bien au niveau des pratiques que du cadre légal. Tout laisse croire que cette tendance ne fera qu’augmenter.

Scénario pour une Europe agroécologique en 2050

Scénario pour une Europe agroécologique en 2050 (19 – 20)

Autres tendances

Le tourisme durable (21), la mobilité douce (22), la réutilisation (23), l’économie circulaire (24), la restauration durable (25), sont entre autres des secteurs en plein essor.

Pour garantir la durabilité des différents secteurs économiques, il est aujourd’hui une évidence que ces secteurs doivent davantage placer l’accent sur la planification et la gestion intégrée des stratégies de développement avec un impact positif sur le plan social et environnemental. Et ceci d’autant plus dans les pays en voie de développement où les consommateurs sont en train d’acquérir un pouvoir d’achat plus élevé.

Définitions (26)

  • végétarien
    abstention de la viande, du poisson, mais consommation des œufs, du fromage, du lait

  • végétalien
    abstention de la viande, du poisson, mais aussi de tous les produits laitiers et des œufs. Ne mange que les céréales, les légumes et les fruits

  • végane
    qui s’efforce de vivre sans consommer de produits issus de l’exploitation des animaux, au profit des animaux, des gens et de la planète. Les végans se nourrissent d’un régime à base de légumes, avec rien qui soit issu des animaux – pas de viande, ni œufs ou de miel par exemple. Un style de vie végan évite aussi le cuir, la laine, la soie et autres produits animaux pour se vêtir ou pour tout autre usage
  • flexitarien
    imitant la consommation de viande sans être exclusivement végétarien et sans que ce soit pour des raisons d’argent
  • alimentation saine
    une alimentation diversifiée, équilibrée et adaptée à l’âge, le sexe, le mode de vie et l’exercice physique (14)
  • locavorisme
    un mouvement prônant la consommation de nourriture produite dans un rayon restreint autour de son domicile (11)
  • planetary diet
    une alimentation optimale d’un point de vue sanitaire et écologique (17)

Bibliographie